CMP Governance Commission

The Certified Meeting Professional (CMP) program is created and maintained by meeting professionals worldwide. The Events Industry Council relies on seasoned CMPs to govern the program and to ensure that it is a reflection of the meetings industry. The governing body, known as the CMP Governance Commission, is comprised of representatives from all sectors of the meetings industry, including planners, suppliers, third-party consultants, and more.

The Commissions meets face-to-face at least twice a year. In addition, members also sit on task forces designed to address emerging or changes happening in the meetings industry. The Commission reviews and approves updates to the CMP and CMP-HC exams, ensures that the policies of the program are consistent with certification program best practices and that all sectors of the meetings industry are represented fairly.

CMP Governance Commission members serve a 3-year term.  In addition, Commission members may only serve 2 consecutive terms (for a total of 6 years on Commission).

The application to sit on the CMP Governance Commission will be made available as seats become available.

CMP Governance Commission Qualifications

2018 CMP Governance Commission

Erin Tench, CMM, CMP
Director of Alumni Relations and Events
Penn State University
Term: January 2018 - December 2018

Vice Chair
Aleka Garcia, CMP-HC, CMM
Director, Strategic Meeting Management
Pacific Communications
Term: January 2018 - December 2018

Immediate Past Chair

Matthew J. DiSalvo, CMP
Vice President Sales and Marketing
Capital Convention Contractors
Term: January 2018 - December 2018

Commission Members

Jessica McLane Gann
Chief, Marketing, Communications & Engagement Officer (CMO)
Term: 2018-2019
(Public Member)

Barbara Connell, CAE, CMP
Chief Operating Officer
American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy
Term: 2018-2020

Timothy Glanzer, CMP
Vice President
Conference Direct
Term: 2016-2018

Deanna Griffith-House, CMM, PMP, CMP
Sr. Manager, Program Management
Spectrum Reach
Term: 2018-2020

Verena Jandak-Hollenthoner, CMP
Marketing Manager, US, Canada, Australia, India
Vienna Convention Bureau
Term: 2016-2018

Tyra W. Hilliard, PhD, JD, CMP
Attorney & Professor
 College of Coastal Georgia 
Term: 2018-2020

Cornelia Horner, CMP
Chief Operating Officer
American Land Title Association
Term: 2018-2020

Leslie Jones, CMP, CAE
Manager, Conference Operations
American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc.
Term: 2018-2020

Steven Lorenz, CMP, HMCC
Strategic Account Manager
Meetings & Incentives Worldwide, Inc.
Term: 2015-2016

Alisa Peters, CMP, CMM
Senior Global Account Manager
Experient, A Maritz Global Events Company
Term: 2018-2020

Robert Webb, CMP
Senior Director of Event Management Svcs.
Term: 2017-2019